Previous Topic

Next Topic

Book Contents

Book Index

Cancelling or closing a pick plan item

If needed, you can cancel or close an individual pick plan item. The action is different based on the Status of the pick plan item. The effect is the same: the inventory item is no longer allocated to this wave.

Under typical business conditions, you should not need to do this. However, you may need to cancel or close a pick plan item if you need to remove the allocation on the inventory item. For example, this would allow you to adjust the item or transfer it to a quality control location if the picker reported some issues with the inventory.

  • If the pick plan is part of a Pick to Staging Wave:
    • The pick plan item can become Cancelled if it has not been planned onto any pick tickets. The pick plan item can become Closed if it has been planned onto pick tickets.
    • The allocation is removed from the pick plan item.
  • If the pick plan is part of a Pick/Pack Wave:
    • The pick plan item can become Cancelled if it has not been planned onto any pick tickets. The pick plan item can become Closed if it has been planned onto pick tickets.
    • The allocation is removed from the pick plan item. The exception is if the pick plan item has already been planned onto pick tickets and been finished picking: in this case, the inventory remains allocated (it is currently being packed in a bill of lading).
    • The Unplanned Qty of the related pack plan items increases by the (original) Qty to Pick of the pick plan item. You can create another pick plan from the pack plan for these amounts. For example, you may want to create another pick plan using a different pick policy.

To cancel or close an individual pick plan item:

  1. Select Wave Fulfillment>Pick Plans. A list of pick plans displays.
  2. Highlight the pick plan for which you want to cancel an item. Select View from the toolbar above the list. The pick plan displays.
  3. In the Pick Plan Items table, check the checkbox(es) next the item(s) you want to cancel.
  4. Select the action from the toolbar above the table.
    • If the pick plan item Status is Approved, select Cancel.
    • If the pick plan item Status is In Progress, select Close.
  5. Select Save or Save and Continue Editing to save your changes. Cancelling or closing a pick plan item has the following effects:
    • The inventory item referenced by this pick plan is no longer allocated to this wave.
    • If this pick plan is part of a Pick/Pack Wave, the Unplanned Qty of the related pack plan items increases by the (original) Qty to Pick of the pick plan item. You can create another pick plan from the pack plan for these amounts. For example, you may want to create another pick plan using a different pick policy.

See Also

Cancelling a pick plan

© 2014 Dicentral Corporation http://smartturn.dicentral.com