Previous Topic

Next Topic

Book Contents

Book Index

Closing bills of lading

When you close a bill of lading, the inventory is decremented (leaves the warehouse) and the Status of the bill of lading changes to Closed.

Before you can close a bill of lading, all of the picking must be completed (the Status of each item changes to Ready), and you must have packed the goods.

To close a bill of lading:

  1. Select Wave Fulfillment>Bills of Lading. A list of bills of lading displays.
  2. Highlight the bill of lading you want to close. Select View iconView from the toolbar above the list. The bill of lading displays.
  3. In the Packages table, confirm that all of the packages have a Status of Ready or Closed. (You can close packages if desired.)
  4. You have two options for closing a bill of lading. It is most common to Ship All Packages.
    • Select Ship All Packages to ship all of the inventory for this bill of lading. This has the following effects:
      • Any packages with a Status of Ready become Closed. This is a shortcut if you do not want to close the packages separately. (There is an error if some packages do not have a Status of Ready or Closed.)
      • All of the inventory leaves the warehouse.
      • The bill of lading Status changes to Closed.
    • Select Ship Closed Packages to ship only the packages that have a Status of Closed. This has the following effects:
      • Any packages with a Status of Ready become Cancelled. (There is an error if some packages do not have a Status of Ready or Closed.)
      • The inventory in the Closed packages leaves the warehouse.
      • The inventory from the Cancelled packages is "dropped" at the Destination Location (packing station) for this bill of lading. These goods are no longer allocated for this wave. They can be bin transferred back to a bulk storage location at a later time.
      • The bill of lading Status changes to Closed.
  5. After you close the bill of lading, the bill of lading header and packages fields remain editable until the Status becomes Committed.

    The reason that you can edit a Closed bill of lading is that sometimes information you want to record on the bill of lading, such as Tracking #s for the packages, is not available until after the goods have left the warehouse. You can return to the Closed bill of lading to record this information, then Commit the bill of lading when you are done.

See Also

Bills of Lading

Viewing bills of lading

Creating bills of lading

Editing bills of lading

Actions on the BOL packages

Actions on the BOL items

Committing bills of lading

Working with integrations and bills of lading

Working with custom fields and bills of lading

Bill of lading field descriptions

© 2014 Dicentral Corporation http://smartturn.dicentral.com